Mädchen in Kenia

Kenya - drought and seasonal flooding

Drought in Kenya

Kenya, or more officially the Republic of Kenya, is a country located in East Africa. With an area of 580,367 square kilometres (see WKO), Kenya is slightly larger than France and is located on both sides of the equator. 

In Kenya, the last three rainy seasons have been below average. The drought threatens hundreds of thousands of people and kills wildlife. The southeast and some coastal areas of the country had the lowest rainfall since 1981. Kenya's President Uhuru Kenyatta declared the drought a national emergency in September 2021. Due to the drought, the wells have dried up, people' livestock have died and the livelihoods of the population are disappearing.

Country information

Current challenges:

  • Persistent drought
  • Seasonal flooding
  • Malnutrition

DROUGHT AND SEASONAL FLOODING IN KENYA

In Kenya, the last three rainy seasons have been below average, threatening hundreds of thousands of people and killing wildlife. Every year, Kenya is threatened by drought and floods, and it is due to climate change that drought and seasonal floods are becoming more frequent.

CLIMATE AND NATURE PROTECTION

About 80% of Kenya's land area is prone to drought. The southeast and some coastal areas of the country had the lowest rainfall since 1981.

Education and future

The Kenyan education system in its current form has existed since 1984. The education system is divided into eight years of compulsory schooling, four years of secondary education and two to eight years of higher education.

INTEGRATION AND TOLERANCE

Kenya became independent on 12 December 1963 and the country's first president was Uhuru Kenyatta.

CURRENT LIVING CONDITIONS IN KENYA

SCHOOL

The Kenyan education system in its current form has existed since 1984. The education system is divided into eight years of compulsory schooling, four years of secondary education and two to eight years of higher education. At the age of six, children start compulsory school. At the end of compulsory schooling, pupils complete the eighth year with a centrally organised final examination and receive the KCPE (Kenyan Certificate of Primary Education) after passing. This certificate enables students to attend a secondary school. After a period of four years, students there can acquire the KCSE (Kenyan Certificate of Secondary Education), which gives access to tertiary or higher vocational education. In addition to state schools, there are a large number of private institutions, some of which offer online training. However, these are mostly informal or non-formal training courses that do not have state recognition.

MEDICINE

Medical care in Kenya is very poor, especially in rural areas. In 2006, Kenya had just 14 hospital beds and one doctor for every 10,000 inhabitants. The health sector in Kenya mainly deals with tropical diseases such as HIV/AIDS, malaria, hepatitis and the consequences of malnutrition and undernourishment. In 2003, 11% of children were born underweight and 16.5% of children under five were malnourished. According to UNAIDS figures, 7.1% to 8.3% of adult Kenyans (15 - 49 years) are HIV-positive. AIDS is a major issue that has contributed to the decline in life expectancy in Kenya. However, progress has been made in the fight against the epidemic in recent years and the average life expectancy in Kenya has started to rise again. In 2018, it was among the highest in sub-Saharan Africa at 66.6 years, according to World Bank figures. In 2019, infant mortality was 38 per 1,000 births and maternal mortality was 243 per 100,000.

Water

In order to survive, every human needs to drink every day. In total, over one billion people in the world have no access to clean drinking water, a large proportion of whom live in Africa. Kenya also lacks access to clean drinking water. Only about half of the people in Kenya had access to clean drinking water and adequate sanitation in 2016. People in Kenya are forced to drink polluted water or walk long distances to the nearest water point. Often the children suffer from diseases caused by the dirty and contaminated water. Due to climate change and drought, water scarcity is worsening. Especially in rural areas and slums, water is difficult to obtain, often very expensive and scarce.

nutrition

Kenyan cuisine on the Swahili Coast has an oriental influence. It is influenced by India and is therefore sometimes very spicy. In the Kenya highlands, the cuisine becomes much milder and simpler. Some national dishes of Kenya are "ugali", a maize porridge, "nyama choma", grilled meat or "chapati", an Indian flatbread. For breakfast, a sweet yeast pastry, "maandzi" or eggs in various forms are often served.

However, around a quarter of the Kenyan population is undersupplied with food. According to the Kenya Agricultural Research Institute (KAR), 1.7 million people are at risk of starvation and death. Maize is the staple food in Kenya and due to the poor maize harvest, there is no food security anywhere in the country.

Geography

Geography

Kenya borders South Sudan to the northwest, Ethiopia to the north, Somalia to the northeast, Tanzania to the south, Uganda to the west and the Indian Ocean to the southeast. Kenya's territory comprises four regions. Kenya's climate is rather tropical, but the country is divided into two climate zones. Temperatures in the coastal area are very hot and inland they are moderated by the high altitude. The warmest months are from October to May, the coldest are from July to August. Temperatures on the Kenyan coast range from 22 °C to 32 °C. It usually cools down at night. Kenya also has two rainy seasons and two dry seasons. Near the equator, the rainy seasons last from October to December and from April to June. The Tana is the longest river in Kenya and is about 800 km long. It flows into the Indian Ocean in two tributaries. Kenya's highest peak is Mount Kenya at 5194 metres and is the second highest mountain in Africa after Kilimanjaro.

Bildung

History

The land area that is part of today's Kenya is one of the oldest settlement areas on the planet. Kenya's history begins in 1885 as a colony with a German protectorate over the possession of Witu on the coast of the Sultanate of Zanzibar. The Imperial British East Africa Company came to Kenya in 1888 and administered British East Africa until 1895. From 1890, Germany handed over Witu to the British under the so-called Heligoland-Zanzibar Treaty. The British government proclaimed British East Africa as a protectorate in 1895 and released the fertile mountainous region as a settlement colony for whites in 1902. In 1920, Kenya officially became a crown colony, which meant that it went through colonial history and was in the hands of the British for a long time. The then British governor declared a state of emergency in Kenya on 20 October 1952 after the assassination of the colonial administration's top African representative. Afterwards, uprisings began, which are also called the Mau Mau wars. In March 1957, the first general election was held and the first government called Kenya African National Union (KANU) was formed. Jomo Kenyatta became Prime Minister on 01 June 1963. Kenya became independent on 12 December 1963 and the country's first president was Uhuru Kenyatta. Due to a hack attack, the presidential election on 08 August 2017 was declared invalid.

Economics

Economics

In East Africa, Kenya is a driving economic force and contributes about 40% of East Africa's economic output. After Nigeria and South Africa, Kenya is one of the three largest economies in sub-Saharan Africa with a GDP of USD 95.9 billion. If we look at prosperity over the past decades, it has been rising steadily, yet around 11 million people of the population live below the absolute poverty line. The unemployment rate in 2019 was 9.3%. Overall, more than half of Kenya's population makes a living from agriculture, but only about 20% of the country's land is arable. Besides coffee and tea, sisal and pyrethrum, which serves as the basis for many insecticides, are also grown. For domestic consumption, mainly maize, wheat, barley, sugar cane, cotton, rice, beans or bananas are cultivated. Kenya depends on tea and coffee exports, industry and tourism. In 2018, Kenya exported €1.2 billion worth of tea, accounting for 22% of Kenya's total exports. The agricultural sector contributes about 35% to GDP, industry about 17% and the service sector through tourism and finance about 44%.

Sources:

Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development: KENYA - Economic engine in East Africa; URL: https://www.bmz.de/de/laender/kenia (last accessed on: 28.01.2022).

statista: Kenya: total population from 1980 to 2019 and projections to 2026(in millions); URL: https://de.statista.com/statistik/daten/studie/349173/umfrage/gesamtbevoelkerung-von-kenia/ (as of Jan. 21, 2022).

WKO - Austrian Federal Economic Chamber, Statistics Division: Country Profile KENYA; URL: https://wko.at/statistik/laenderprofile/lp-kenia.pdf (as of October 2021)

Mädchen in Kenia

Kenia – Dürre und saisonale Überschwemmungen

Dürre in Kenia

Kenia oder offiziell Republik Kenia ist ein Staat, welcher in Ostafrika liegt. Mit einer Fläche von 580.367 Quadratkilometer (vgl. WKO) ist Kenia etwas größer als Frankreich und ist beiderseits am Äquator gelegen. 

In Kenia sind die letzten drei Regenperioden unterdurchschnittlich ausgefallen. Die Dürre bedroht Hunderttausende Menschen und tötet die Wildtiere. Im Südosten und an manchen Gegenden an der Küste des Landes wiesen die geringsten Regenfälle seit 1981 aus. Kenias Präsident Uhuru Kenyatta erklärte im September 2021 die Dürre zum nationalen Notfall. Durch die Dürre sind die Brunnen ausgetrocknet, das Vieh der Menschen verendet und die Lebensgrundlagen der Bevölkerung verschwinden.

Informationen zum Land

Aktuelle Herausforderungen:

  • Anhaltende Dürre
  • Saisonale Überschwemmungen
  • Unterernährung

Kenia Dürre und saisonale Überschwemmungen

In Kenia sind die letzten drei Regenperioden unterdurchschnittlich ausgefallen und bedroht Hunderttausende Menschen und tötet die Wildtiere. Jedes Jahr wird Kenia von Dürre und Überschwemmungen bedroht und gerade durch den Klimawandel treten Dürre und saisonale Überschwemmungen immer häufiger auf.

Klima und Naturschutz

Etwa 80 % der Landesfläche von Kenia ist für Dürre anfällig. Im Südosten und an manchen Gegenden an der Küste des Landes wiesen die geringsten Regenfälle seit 1981 aus.

Bildung und Zukunft

Das kenianische Bildungssystem in seiner jetzigen Form existiert seit dem Jahr 1984. Aufgeteilt ist das Bildungssystem in eine achtjährige Pflichtschule, eine vierjährige Sekundarbildung und eine zwei bis achtjährige tertiäre Bildung.

Integration und Toleranz

Kenia wurde am 12. Dezember 1963 unabhängig und der erste Präsident des Landes wurde Uhuru Kenyatta.

Derzeitige Lebensbedingungen in Kenia

Schule

Das kenianische Bildungssystem in seiner jetzigen Form existiert seit dem Jahr 1984. Aufgeteilt ist das Bildungssystem in eine achtjährige Pflichtschule, eine vierjährige Sekundarbildung und eine zwei bis achtjährige tertiäre Bildung. Im Alter von sechs Jahren beginnen die Kinder mit der Pflichtschule. Am Ende der Pflichtschule absolvieren die Schüler/innen das achte Schuljahr mit einer zentralen organisierten Abschlussprüfung und erhalten nach Bestehen das KCPE (Kenyan Certificate of Primary Education). Mit diesem Zertifikat wird es den Schüler/innen ermöglicht, eine weiterführende Sekundarschule zu besuchen. Nach einer Dauer von vier Jahren können die Schüler/innen dort das KCSE (Kenyan Certificate of Secondary Education) erwerben, welches der Zugang zur tertiären oder höheren beruflichen Bildung ermöglicht. Neben den staatlichen Schulen gibt es eine große Anzahl von privaten Einrichtungen, die zum Teil Online-Ausbildungen anbieten. Hierbei handelt es sich jedoch meistens um informelle bzw. non-formelle Ausbildungsgänge, die über keine staatliche Anerkennung verfügen.

Medizin

Die medizinische Versorgung in Kenia ist vor allem in den ländlichen Regionen sehr schlecht. Kenia verfügte im Jahr 2006 gerade mal über 14 Krankenhausbetten und einen Arzt für je 10.000 Einwohner:innen. Das Gesundheitswesen in Kenia beschäftigt sich hauptsächlich mit Tropenkrankheiten wie HIV/AIDS, Malaria, Hepatitis und den Folgen der Mangel- und Unterernährung. Im Jahr 2003 kamen 11 % der Kinder untergewichtig auf die Welt und 16,5 % der Kinder unter fünf Jahren waren unterernährt. Laut den Werten von UNAIDS sind 7,1 % bis 8,3 % der erwachsenen Kenianer:innen (15 – 49 Jahre) HIV-positiv. AIDS ist ein großer Punkt, welcher in Kenia zum Absinken der Lebenserwartung beigetragen hat. Jedoch konnte in den letzten Jahren ein Fortschritt im Kampf gegen die Epidemie gemacht werden und die durchschnittliche Lebenserwartung in Kenia stieg wieder an. 2018 gehörte sie zu den höchsten in Subsahara-Afrika mit 66,6 Jahren laut Werten der Weltbank. Im Jahr 2019 lag die Säuglingssterblichkeit bei 38 je 1.000 Geburten und die Müttersterblichkeit bei 243 je 100.000.

Wasser

Um zu überleben, muss jeder Mensch täglich trinken. Insgesamt haben über eine Milliarde Menschen auf der Welt kein Zugang zu sauberem Trinkwasser, davon lebt ein großer Teil in Afrika. In Kenia fehlt es auch an Zugang zu sauberem Trinkwasser. Nur rund die Hälfte der Menschen in Kenia hatten im Jahr 2016 Zugang zu sauberem Trinkwasser und adäquater Sanitärversorgung. Die Menschen in Kenia sind gezwungen verschmutztes Wasser zu trinken oder Sie müssen weite Strecken zur nächsten Wasserstelle laufen. Oftmals leiden die Kinder unter Krankheiten, welche durch das schmutzige und verkeimte Wasser ausgelöst werden. Durch den Klimawandel und der Dürre verschlimmert sich die Wasserknappheit. Gerade auf dem Land und in den Slums ist Wasser schwer zu beschaffen, oft sehr teuer und knapp.

ErnäHrung

Die kenianische Küche an der Suaheli-Küste ist orientalisch beeinflusst. Sie ist durch den indischen Einfluss geprägt und daher teils sehr pikant gewürzt. Im Hochland von Kenia wird die Küche wesentlich milder und einfacher. Einige Nationalgerichte Kenias sindUgali”, ein Maisbrei, Nyama Choma”, gegrilltes Fleisch oder “Chapati”, ein indisches Fladenbrot. Fürs Frühstück wird häufig ein süßes Hefegebäck, “Maandzioder Eier in verschiedenster Zubereitung serviert.

Jedoch sind landesweit rund ein Viertel der kenianischen Bevölkerung mit Nahrungsmitteln unterversorgt. Laut dem kenianischen Agrarforschungsinstitut (KAR) drohen 1,7 Millionen Menschen Hunger und Tod. Mais ist in Kenia das Grundnahrungsmittel und aufgrund der schlechten Maisernte herrscht nirgendwo im Land Ernährungssicherheit.

Geographie

Geographie

Im Nordwesten grenzt Kenia an den Südsudan, im Norden an Äthiopien, im Nordosten an Somalia, im Süden an Tansania, im Westen an Uganda und im Südosten an den Indischen Ozean. Kenias Landschaft umfasst vier Regionen. Kenias Klima ist eher tropisch, das Land wird jedoch in zwei Klimazonen eingeteilt. Die Temperaturen im Bereich der Küste sind sehr heiß und im Landesinnern werden sie durch die Höhenlage gemildert. Die wärmsten Monate sind von Oktober bis Mai, die kältesten gehen von Juli bis August. Die Temperaturen an der Küste in Kenia liegen bei zwischen 22 °C und 32 °C. In der Nacht kühlt es meist ab. Zudem hat Kenia zwei Regenzeiten und zwei Trockenzeiten. In Äquatornähe dauern die Regenzeiten von Oktober bis Dezember und von April bis Juni an. Der Tana ist der längste Fluss Kenias und ist rund 800 km lang. Er mündet in zwei Armen in den Indischen Ozean. Die höchste Erhebung in Kenia ist der Mount Kenia mit 5194 m und ist nach dem Kilimandscharo der zweithöchste Berg Afrikas.

Bildung

Geschichte

Die Landesfläche, welche zum heutigen Kenia gehört, gehört zu den ältesten Siedlungsgebieten der Erde. Die Geschichte Kenias beginnt im Jahr 1885 als Kolonie mit einem deutschen Protektorat über die Besitzung Witu an der Küste des Sultanats von Sansibar. Die Imperial British East Africa Company kam im Jahr 1888 nach Kenia und verwaltete dort bis 1895 Britisch-Ostafrika. Von 1890 übergab Deutschland Witu den Briten gemäß dem sogenannten Helgoland-Sansibar-Vertrag. Die britische Regierung rief im Jahr 1895 Britisch-Ostafrika als Protektorat aus und gab das fruchtbare Bergland als Siedlungskolonie in 1902 für Weiße frei. Kenia wurde 1920 offiziell zur Kronkolonie, dadurch durchlebten Sie Kolonialgeschichte und waren lange Zeit in der Hand der Briten. Der damalige britische Gouverneur verhängte am 20. Oktober 1952 den Ausnahmezustand in Kenia, nachdem der oberste afrikanische Repräsentant der Kolonialadministration ermordet wurde. Anschließend begannen Aufstände, die auch Mau-Mau-Kriege genannt werden. Im März 1957 fand die erste allgemeine Wahl statt und es wurde die erste Regierung namens Kenya African National Union (KANU) gegründet. Jomo Kenyatta wurde am 01. Juni 1963 Ministerpräsident. Kenia wurde am 12. Dezember 1963 unabhängig und der erste Präsident des Landes wurde Uhuru Kenyatta. Wegen eines Hackerangriffs wurde die Präsidentschaftswahl am 08. August 2017 als ungültig erklärt.

Ökonomie

Ökonomie

In Ostafrika ist Kenia eine treibende Wirtschaftskraft und trägt etwa 40 % der Wirtschaftsleistung von Ostafrika bei. Nach Nigeria und Südafrika zählt Kenia mit einem BIP von USD 95,9 Mrd. zu den größten drei Volkswirtschaften in Sub-Sahara-Afrika. Wird der Wohlstand in den letzten Jahrzehnten betrachtet, steigt dieser beständig, dennoch leben ca. 11 Mio. Menschen der Bevölkerung unterhalb der absoluten Armutsgrenze. Die Arbeitslosenquote im Jahr 2019 lag bei 9,3 %. Insgesamt lebt mehr als die Hälfte der Bevölkerung von Kenia von der Landwirtschaft, es sind jedoch nur rund 20 % der Fläche des Landes nutzbar. Neben Kaffee und Tee wird auch Sisal und Pyrethrum, welches als Basis vieler Insektenbekämpfungsmittel dient, angebaut. Für den Eigenbedarf wird hauptsächlich Mais, Weizen, Gerste, Zuckerrohr, Baumwolle, Reis, Bohnen oder Bananen angebaut. Kenia lebt vom Tee- und Kaffee-Export, von der Industrie und vom Tourismus. Im Jahr 2018 wurde in Kenia Tee im Wert von 1,2 Mrd. Euro exportiert, was insgesamt 22 % der Exporte Kenias ausmachte. Mit rund 35 % trägt der Agrarsektor zum BIP bei, die Industrie etwa 17 % und der Dienstleistungssektor durch Tourismus und Finanzwirtschaft rund 44 %.

Quellen:

Bundesministerium für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung: KENIA – Wirtschaftsmotor in Ostafrika; URL: https://www.bmz.de/de/laender/kenia (zuletzt aufgerufen am: 28.01.2022)

statista: Kenia: Gesamtbevölkerung von 1980 bis 2019 und Prognosen bis 2026(in Millionen Einwohner); URL: https://de.statista.com/statistik/daten/studie/349173/umfrage/gesamtbevoelkerung-von-kenia/ (Stand: 21.01.2022)

WKO – Wirtschaftskammer Österreich, Abteilung für Statistik: Länderprofil KENIA; URL: https://wko.at/statistik/laenderprofile/lp-kenia.pdf (Stand: Oktober 2021)